Back to index of Justin Holland's "Scraps From The Operas"

Justin Holland
Scraps from the Operas arranged for Two Guitars

No. 2 - Faust 2 (Faust March)


Justin Holland, Scraps From The Operas

Opera: Faust
Composer: Charles Gounod
Premiere: Paris, 1859.

Scrap: Tempo di Marcia.

From Act 4 is the famous Faust March, also known as the Soldiers' Chorus or Gloire immortelle ("Immortal glory of our ancestors, be faithful to us! Let's die as they did!") Where the music changes character at 1:48, the soldiers sing, "Let us hasten to our hearths! Peace has come!" Marguerite's brother Valentin is among the soldiers returning from war. He will learn of Marguerite's fallen state shortly, and be slain by Mephistopheles in a duel.

PLAY OPERA SCRAP NO. 2 - "Faust 2 (Faust March)"

Next Opera Scrap: No. 3 - "Fra Diavolo"
Previous Opera Scrap: No. 1 - "Faust 1 (Faust Waltz)"
Index of all 20 "Scraps From The Operas"


Contact Donald Sauter: send an email; view guestbook; sign guestbook.
Back to Donald Sauter's main page.
Back to the top of this page.